My first piggy bank

Standard

There is a shop in our way to the Library, where little ones and (not so little) can paint a piece of pottery and fire it up. My daughter (3) used to look through the window and spend some time admiring the finished pieces.

So I carefully planned this activity for her as a reward for good behavior, first she got a number of points for good behavior when she got a certain amount, I drew a voucher to be redeemed for a piggy bank and finally we went to the shop. I picked up the piggy bank because it was a big and easy piece and we could use it after the activity.

My daughter spent 1 hour painting the piggy bank, one, two, three layers of pink paint. She is too young to paint small details so when she was done I helped her with the eyes and mouth…it had to look pretty.

Needless to say that she also painted the table, her hands, her t-shirt, but the paint was no toxic and washable. I did not forget the little sister (1), we admire the piggy for a little while and then we played with some clean brushes and had a snack. When the piggy bank was ready to be fired up, we washed our hands and left the piggy bank ready to go to the oven.

After a long week we came back to pick it up, I was quite surprised by the result and my daughter was so proud of her masterpiece.

About amaliabarragan

I am the mother of two daughters who left Spain longer than 2 years ago to live in San Francisco Bay Area, where the family was relocated. I am now living through that adaptation period which is the motherhood. Trying to keep in mind the essentials of my life before it and pass them on my little daughters. Those important things are outdoor activities, nature, biking, friends, traveling around the world, curiosity about everything, art, cooking. I am definitely enjoying this time with tons of activities and by sharing them I would love to help others.

2 responses »

  1. The piggybank is a wonderful idea. We made piggy banks for the kids when they were small.
    But the best part is you are teaching your daughter there is a reward for good behavior and saving money is important. Anyway you can make piggy banks for college bound teenagers?

Leave a Reply

