Vacation with kids

Standard

This has been a long break for the blog, the excuse/s? The preparation of the family vacations, the vacations and the post-adaptation period to our normal life. I have been keeping my daughters busy during all this period of time, and I found a lot of fun activities to share, what I couldn’t find was the time to type them.

Albayzin with kids, Enjoy Alhambra view with kids

Mom and Grandma enjoying Alhambra view in the Albayzin.

Our vacations were a trip to Spain to visit the family and friends back in Europe. That means a lot of people to catch up with, in the case of the grownups, and the opportunity to spend long hours playing for the little ones. That sounds like a good plan but it definitely gets complicated sometimes. The reasons are as simple as the warm-hot weather is tiring for everybody,  you may want to hang out with people kids don’t  want to, to  rest in a café is not their idea of fun, neither yours is to get dusty in the park for 4 endless hours, kids’ idea of a nice walk is much shorter than yours, you may think 2 ice creams are enough for a day, but the kids disagree and this time they got Grandpa’s support…

The list is of possible complications could be endless, and I found that what really helps is to accept that plans can change at any moment for good or bad, so relax, take it easy, enjoy the little good moments and don’t take too seriously the bad ones.  After all you are on vacation.

One day, I decided to take my daughters to a playground near our house in Granada. The house is located in the Albayzin, the old Arab quarter on the hill opposite to Alhambra, which means white houses in narrow, steep and cobblestone streets.  A dream for a mom, a 4 year old and a 1,5 year old on a stroller!. But I know the place, or at least I thought so, thus I picked a longer route, friendly for the stroller to reach our destination, the playground in a shady area near to Darro River.

Work out machine for grownups

Work out machine for grownups

Soon, we found out that the playground wasn’t the shady playground for kids, we expected; it was a dusty workout area for grownups. You can bet my daughters got disappointed, but I convinced them to find out a way of playing with the “cool” grownups structures of the picture.  We played in a few of those workout machines and when we all get dusty we went to a near fountain to play with the water. As my mother says “sand and water is a win- win combination with kids”. In no time, my daughters got muddy and tired. It was the perfect time for a snack and some relax time in any shadow spot. I was ready to go back home and nap, were they?…

We walked down the Paseo de los Tristes a little bit, they seemed to be full of energy again, no nap?.  We walked down La Carrera del Darro. I have to recognize I was getting exhausted, it was hot, without shadow, the way back home was uphill, to push the stroller was getting harder…Luckily, I found El Bañuelo on our way, this is a 11th century Arab bathhouse. A courtyard with a little pool and fishes welcomed us, and them we got into the several rooms which used to be the cold, warm and hot water rooms.  We all fell in love with this place, the star-shape skylights on the ceiling let a little amount of light in, the thick walls made the rooms very fresh, the horseshoe arcades and the columns…  there were only a few visitants and my daughters could play hide and seek for a while without disturbing somebody.

The day happily ended up, all the way downhill at Grandpa’s.

Granada with kids, Arab bath, el Bañuelo, hide and seek.

Hide and Seek at El Bañuelo, Granada

About amaliabarragan

I am the mother of two daughters who left Spain longer than 2 years ago to live in San Francisco Bay Area, where the family was relocated. I am now living through that adaptation period which is the motherhood. Trying to keep in mind the essentials of my life before it and pass them on my little daughters. Those important things are outdoor activities, nature, biking, friends, traveling around the world, curiosity about everything, art, cooking. I am definitely enjoying this time with tons of activities and by sharing them I would love to help others.

4 responses »

  1. This brings to my mind so wonderful memories. Granada is charming city, Alhambra is a fairy castle and Albayzin is …. it is wonderful, but I don’t feel strong enough to stroll around with a baby. OMG

Leave a Reply

